Institute for Teaching and Learning (ITL)

Faculty Development Council Policies

Membership and Meeting Attendance

The FDC invites one (1) voting representative from each of the 23 CSU campuses, typically the campus center director. The ITL Director and Assistant Vice Chancellor of Academic Programs are non-voting, ex-officio members. With approval from the host-site, additional guests who are directly involved with their campus faculty development efforts are invited to attend FDC meetings (e.g., center associate directors, newly appointed or interim center directors).

Leadership and CSU Committee Representation

The FDC leadership team includes three (3) officers:

  • President
  • Immediate Past President
  • President-Elect

FDC representatives serve on CSU committees, such as the:

  • Institute for Teaching and Learning (ITL) Advisory Board
  • Academic Technology Planning Committee (ATAC)
  • System Wide Academic Technology (SWAT)

Terms of Office and Selection Process


Each of the three (3) officers of the FDC leadership team serves for one (1) year in each position. The new terms begin at the close of the annual FDC meeting held in June in conjunction with the CSU Teacher-Scholar Summer Institute (TSSI). At the annual meeting, the president-elect nominations are made. The president calls for additional nominations via email. The full FDC membership votes for the president-elect via email during the month following the annual FDC meeting.


The ITL Advisory Board representative is elected by the FDC following the same procedures as for electing FDC officers. Any member of the FDC, including officers, may serve as the representative to the ITL Board.

The ITL Advisory Board representative serves for her/his tenure as a campus center director, or a 2-year term, whichever is less. Both the ATAC and SWAT representatives are selected at the annual FDC meeting. They serve for their tenure as campus center directors, or a 3-year term, whichever is less. Responsibilities of representatives include reporting relevant committee proceedings and initiatives to the FDC at the annual and mid-year meetings. Terms of representatives to other boards and committees will be set at the time those positions are established.


The president presides over all meetings of the organization and directs its affairs. The FDC holds two (2) meetings annually, the annual June FDC meeting at TSSI and a mid-year meeting. An effort is made to alternate meeting sites between northern and southern California.

Officer responsibilities:

  • Plan annual June FDC meeting.
  • Plan mid-year FDC meeting.
  • Distribute a written summary of FDC meetings.
  • Conduct FDC s/elections.
  • Encourage participation and completion of FDC initiatives
    (e.g., CSU committee representation, surveys, and update of the FDC roster maintained on the ITL Web site).
  • Maintain, update, and distribute FDC policies.
  • Facilitate communication among FDC members regarding CSU and campus initiatives, regional symposia, and other relevant information.
  • Encourage participation in ITL initiatives
    (e.g., ITL-sponsored grants, programs, and Exchanges).

FDC operation policies were approved by the following members of the FDC in attendance at the annual meeting, June 19, 2003, or via e-mail:

Roberta Ambrosino, Dominguez Hills
Eileen Barrett, Hayward
Kaye Bragg, Bakersfield
Doris Christopher, Los Angeles
Cynthia Desrochers, Northridge
Vicki Golich, San Marcos
Joe Grimes, San Luis Obispo
Ethelynda Harding, Fresno
Carol Holder, Channel Islands
Bunny Paine-Clemes, Maritime
Rowena Santiago, San Bernardino
Colleen Saylor, San José
Armin Schulz, Stanislaus
Ian Steward, Pomona
Sandra Sutphen, Fullerton
Mark Wiley, Long Beach
Marilyn Winzenz, Chico

With support from Cheryl Weigand, Managing Editor, Exchanges, and Publications Manager, ITL and ex-officio members from the CSU Chancellor's Office:

  • Lorie Roth, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Programs
  • Mary Allen, Director, Institute for Teaching and Learning

Last Updated: March 20, 2012