Integrated CSU Administrative Manual

CSU POLICY

--INACTIVE HISTORICAL POLICY--

Section:  GENERAL ACCOUNTING

Section 3000 Policies

Policy Number:  3102.09

Policy Title: Bank Reconciliations

Policy Effective Date: April 1, 2011

Last Revision Date:  
(see revision history)

POLICY OBJECTIVE

It is the policy of the CSU that campuses shall establish written procedures to regularly reconcile all bank and centralized CSU Bank statements to campus books.


POLICY STATEMENT

Campus bank accounts are reconciled at least monthly.  Reconciliations shall be in sufficient detail to determine components of outstanding reconciling items.

Reconciling items are cleared monthly when practical.  Exceptions to monthly clearing shall include justification and be reviewed and approved by a supervisor.

Reconciliations are performed by independent parties, without vested interests in the original transaction/s.

Reconciliation records shall be retained per campus fiscal records retention policy.

Benjamin F. Quillian
Executive Vice-Chancellor/Chief Financial Officer

Approved: February 4, 2011




APPLICABILITY AND AREAS OF RESPONSIBILITY

 

REVISION HISTORY

 

RESOURCES AND REFERENCE MATERIALS

Useful Guidelines:

 

Related Principles:

 

Sound Business Practices:

 

Laws, State Codes, Regulations and Mandates:

 

COGNIZANT OFFICE(S)

CO Manager:

Mr. Sean Boylan  
Cash Management Operations Officer, Resource Management Office
CSU Office of the Chancellor
sboylan@calstate.edu

Subject Expert:

Ms. Gay Kvilhaug
Accountant II
Maritime Academy
gkvilhaug@csum.edu

Ms. Maribeth Bradberry
Accounting Manager
Channel Islands
maribeth.bradberry@csuci.edu

Ms. Nancy Suarez
Director, Student Financial Services
San Marcos
nsuarez@csusm.edu

Ms. Jan Burnham
Student Financial Services
Chico
jburnham@csuchico.edu

Ms. Gina Curry
Director & University Bursar
Sacramento
felicianog@csus.edu

Ms. Cora Wong
Director, Student Financial Operations
San Francisco
coraw@sfsu.edu

Ms. Caryl Vickers-Harper
Assistant Director & University Cashier
Sacramento
vickersca@csus.edu


Affinity Group:

 FOA, FSAC

Feedback/Questions/Comments