Current Symposium Info: 2015 Past Symposiums: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

26th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium

26th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium Photo Gallery

Thursday - Saturday, January 9-11, 2014
Santa Clara Marriott

Each year CSUPERB organizes the CSU Biotechnology Symposium. The program is designed to broaden exposure to cutting-edge biotechnologies, product-focused innovation and the spectrum of career paths available in the life sciences. The symposium brings CSU students, faculty and administrators together, along with biotech professionals working in academia, government and industry.

"...meetings should be designed to expose the attendees to ways of thinking and techniques that are different from the ones they already know." - Bruce Alberts, Science, February 15, 2013

2014 Symposium Reporting

  • The 26th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium Report is linked here.
  • The complete, electronic version of the 26th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium Program is linked here.
  • The symposium program featured two poster sessions Friday evening and Saturday afternoon. 263 research posters from 21 CSU universities were accepted for presentation (~75% acceptance rate). Poster abstracts can be searched here.
  • The official photo gallery is here. See other photos and student award finalists on Facebook.

2014 Symposium Award Winners

  • Andreoli Faculty Service Award: Betsy Read, CSU San Marcos
  • CSUPERB Faculty Research Award: Mamta Rawat, CSU Fresno
  • Crellin Pauling Student Teaching Awards: Jeannette Bowler, San Francisco State University, and Katherine Nakama, CSU Fullerton
  • Glenn Nagel Undergraduate Research Award: Rodolfo Flores, CSU Long Beach
  • Don Eden Graduate Research Award: David Lin, CSU Fullerton
  • CSUPERB-I2P(R) Early-stage Biotechnology Commercialization Challenge:
    • First Place: "StemPatch" Team (CSU Sacramento) - Melissa Bardo, Kristen Hernandez, Jordan Kreun, Manmeet Singh
    • Second Place: "VERAS-2F" Team (CSU Sacramento) - Michael Bloss, Mark Feranil, Gabriel Schlaefer, Linda Torres
    • Third Place: "VIGAR" Team (CSU Sacramento) - David Anderson, Fernando Garcia, Joseph Guillano, William Low
    • Crowd Favorite: "Heavy Metal Sponge" Team (CSU Long Beach) - Kyle Booth, Sam Nguyen, David Steidle, Nancy Trujuil

Program Schedule-At-A-Glance

Thursday (January 9, 2014) Workshops

  • Federal and Private Grant Opportunities (organized by CSUPERB Professional Development Taskforce). Confirmed speakers: Gary Fujii (CEO, MolecularGPS Technologies / SBIR expert), David Rockliffe (Program Director, Chemistry of Life Processes, NSF), Nancy Katano (Executive Director, Corporate, Foundation and Research Relations Office, UCLA) and Madeline Rasche (CSU Fullerton / former program director, NSF BIO)
  • Individual Development Plans (Effective Thesis Writing Case Study)
  • Case It! Workshop (Mark Berglund & Karen Klyczek, University of Wisconsin-River Falls; organized by CSUPERB Genomic Analysis & Technology Committee)
  • Quantitative Biology Network Meeting (organized by Bori Mazzag, Network Chair, Humboldt State)
  • CSUPERB Proposal Writing Workshop
  • Bioengineering Reception (organized by CSUPERB Bioengineering Taskforce) - Slide Deck and Updated Bioengineering Network Roster

Friday (January 10) Sessions

Collaborating and Cooperating for Public Health

  • Gerard Jensen, Director, Technical Services, Gilead Sciences
  • Robert Lindhardt, Biocatalysis & Metabolic Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Stanley Maloy, Dean, College of Sciences, San Diego State University

Career Networking Session (for students)

  • Terry Rosen, CEO, Flexus Biosciences

Effective STEM Education workshop: Flipped Classroom 101 (for faculty)

  • Catherine Halversen (UC Berkeley) - workshop lead
  • Blake Gillespie (CSU Channel Islands), Jenn Lillig (Sonoma State University), Koni Stone (CSU Stanislaus) - workshop facilitators

Graduate School Information Session (for students)

  • Angelica Flores Castaneda, UC Berkeley (Cal Poly Pomona alum)

Saturday (January 11) Sessions

Award Talks Session

CSUPERB-I2P Early-Stage Biotechnology Commercialization Challenge: Finalists' Presentations

  • Preliminary Judges: James Alva (Tech Futures Group), Luanne Meyer (Meyer & Associates Market Research), Hon Wong (Tech Futures Group), Arthur Karshmer (University of San Francisco)
  • Finals Judges: Elise Brownell (ZephyrBiotech), Adam Mendelsohn (Nano Precision Medical), David Pauling (Sutro Pharmaceuticals)

26th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium Sponsors:

Tech FuturesPasadena Bioscience Collaborative


Past Symposium Highlights »