Current Symposium Info: 2015 Past Symposiums: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

23rd Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium

23nd Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium

Friday and Saturday, January 7-8, 2011
Hyatt Regency Orange County

The two-day symposium program aimed to make connections between innovative life science research and the impacts it has on society, to highlight cutting-edge biotechnologies, and to inspire students for success in the global economy. The program theme was innovation - especially as it might impact global health and new product development. The symposium provided a terrific opportunity for CSU students to network with biotech professionals working in academia, government and industry. Faculty shared research progress, discussed educational best practices, and met potential collaborators from other campuses and industry. Read the Annual Symposium report here!

2011 Symposium Award Winners

Andreoli Award: Howard Xu, CSU Los Angeles

Crellin Pauling Student Teaching Award: Pete Arnold, Sonoma State University

Faculty Research Award: Sep Eskandari, Cal Poly Pomona

Glenn Nagel Undergraduate Student Research Award: Florante Ricarte, CSU Long Beach

Don Eden Graduate Student Research Award: Jason Schott, CSU Fullerton

Program and Poster Sessions

The electronic version of the symposium program is available; the Career Networking Session addendum is also here. The poster sessions featured 236 projects from 21 CSU universities Poster abstracts can be viewed and searched online here.

Speakers and Sessions

Jolene Koester, President, CSU Northridge

Michael Onuscheck, President and Sr. VP, Neuromodulation Division, Boston Scientific

Brian Pollok, Chief Scientific Officer and Head of Global Research and Development, Life Technologies

Charles Reed, Chancellor, California State University

James Rosser, President, CSU Los Angeles & CSUPERB Presidents' Commission

Stephen Weber, President, San Diego State University & Chair, CSUPERB Presidents' Commission

Healthcare Solutions for the Developing World

    • Jose Gomez-Marquez (Program Director, Innovations in International Health and D-Lab:Health Lecturer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
    • Ingileif Jonsdottir (Professor, Department of Immunology, Landspitali University Hospital, Faculty of Medicine, University of Iceland and deCODE Genetics, Inc.)
    • Clifford Samuel (Vice President, International Access Operations, Gilead Sciences, Inc.)

Turning Life Science Innovation into Products - Panel Discussion (see this and this)

CSUPERB Principal Investigator Showcase

    • David Keller (Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences, CSU Chico)
    • Hope Johnson (Assistant Professor, Biology, CSU Fullerton)
    • Rahul Singh (Associate Professor, Computer Science, San Francisco State University)

Science Communications Panel on Human DNA Testing

Online Curriculum Development Workshop (for faculty)

    • Kara Andrew (Instructional Designer, Distance Education, CSU Fullerton)
    • Dennis Robinson (Director, Distance Education/IT, CSU Fullerton)
    • Kim Walker, MS, RAC (US & EU), Global Regulatory Affairs & Quality Assurance Consultant
    • Sean Walker (Associate Professor and Vice Chair, Biological Sciences, CSU Fullerton)

Other Sessions:

  • Career Networking Session (for students) - Mentors attended from Abbott Vascular, Alere, Beckman Coulter, Boston Scientific (Neuromodulation Division), Edwards Lifesciences, Eli Lilly & Company, Huntington Memorial Hospital, Kaiser Permanente, Lab Support, Maxwell Sensors, MPEX Pharmaceuticals, Peptisynthia, Inc., Phage Pharmaceuticals, Prometheus Laboratories, O'Banion & Ritchey LLC, ScienceMedia, Inc., US Food & Drug Administration (FDA), US Labs, Verenium Corporation, ZBGlobal, Inc.
  • Graduate School Information Roundtable Session (for students)
  • CSUPERB Proposal Writing Workshop (for faculty)

To get a flavor of the event, see the 2010 Symposium Report.

Past Symposium Highlights »