Faculty Research Award

2015 Important Dates and Information

Nomination Due Date: Closed for 2015 nominations
Award Announcement: At annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium, January 8-10, 2015
Award Amount: $1,000

Program Introduction

The Faculty Research Award honors a California State University (CSU) faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding scientific achievement in the CSU's biotechnology research effort.

Eligibility and Requirements

Tenured or tenure-track CSU faculty, employed in the system for a minimum of 5 years, are eligible for this award. A CSU faculty colleague must make the nomination.

The award recipient gives a talk (~45 minutes) about his/her research program during the Awards Session at the 27th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium, January 8-10, 2015 in Santa Clara, California. Nominees and members of their nominating committee should plan to attend the symposium.

The Award

This award comes as a $1000 honorarium. Up to one award is made each year. The award is announced and recipient recognized at the CSU Biotechnology Symposium in Santa Clara, California on January 8-10, 2015.

Submission Information

Submit nominations using the form and instructions available on the Submission Information page.

Contact Information

For information about this program, please contact CSUPERB at (619) 594-2822 or by email.

Faculty Research Award Winners (2013)

Several Faculty Research Award (FRA) winners were at the 25th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium in Anaheim, California, when Dr. Christopher Kitts was recognized for his community-partnered research programs and his integration of student-driven inquiry across the curriculum at Cal Poly. Front Row, left to right: Christopher Meyer (CSU Fullerton, FRA 2004), Sandy Bernstein (San Diego State University, FRA 1996), Nancy McQueen (CSU Los Angeles, FRA 2008), Sep Eskandari (Cal Poly Pomona, FRA 2011), Jill Adler-Moore (Cal Poly Pomona, FRA 2005). Back Row, Left to right: Marcelo Tolmasky (CSU Fullerton, FRA 2002), Bob Koch (CSU Fullerton, FRA 2000) and Christopher Kitts (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, FRA 2013).