Andreoli Faculty Service Award

Dr. A. Andreoli
Dr. A. Andreoli

Important Dates and Information

Nomination Due Date: To be announced in August, 2016.
Award Announcement: At Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium, January, 2017
Award Amount: $1,000

Program Introduction

The Andreoli faculty Service Award honors a California State University (CSU) faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to the development of biotechnology programs in the CSU system.

This award is made in honor of Dr. A. Andreoli (CSU, Los Angeles) who had high expectations for everyone, especially students and colleagues. He was totally committed to his students and to the idea that the CSU has a special role to play in higher education by providing opportunities to a large population of non-traditional students who otherwise would have fewer options for advancement. Because he felt fortunate that life had provided him with many opportunities, Dr. Andreoli believed that it was his responsibility to do everything he could in order to provide similar opportunities for others.

Eligibility and Requirements

Tenured or tenure-track CSU faculty, employed in the system for a minimum of 5 years, are eligible for this award. A CSU faculty colleague must make the nomination.

Nominees and members of their nominating committee should plan to attend the annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium in January, 2017.


The award consists of a $1,000 grant for the awardee's use on their campus.  The award is made with State of California dollars and can be used for any item related to the awardees academic or research activities.  This includes, but is not limited to, salary for allowable non-academic activities, purchase of release time (and associated benefits), research or academic travel, equipment (including tablets /computers), research supplies, etc.

The recipient must comply with state, CSU and campus spending guidelines for the use of state funds.

Submission Information

Submit nominations using the instructions and system link available on the Submission Information page.

Contact Information

For questions regarding nomination forms and submission process, please contact CSUPERB at (619) 594-2822 or by email.

2013 Andreoli Award Winner Jim Ritchey with past winners
Several Andreoli Award (AA) winners, along with Mrs. Fran Andreoli, attended the 25th Annual CSU Biotechnology Symposium in Anaheim, California, offering a historic photo opportunity. Front Row, left to right: Jill Adler-Moore (Cal Poly Pomona, AA 1994), Sandra Sharp (CSU Los Angeles, AA 2005), Mrs. Fran Andreoli (Andreoli Family Representative), James Richey (CSU Sacramento, AA 2013), Katherine Kantardjieff (CSU San Marcos, AA 2009), Shirley Kovacs (CSU Fresno, AA 2002). Back Row, left to right: Howard Xu (CSU Los Angeles, AA 2011), Frank Bayliss (San Francisco State University, AA 2003), Marvin Rosenberg (CSU Fullerton, AA 1993), Robert Koch (CSU Fullerton, AA 2010), William Tong (San Diego State University, AA 2012), Alejandro Calderon-Urrea (CSU Fresno, AA 2008).