#### **AGENDA**

# JOINT COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT AND EDUCATIONAL POLICY

Meeting: 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, January 30, 2024

Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium

<b>Committee on Institutional</b>	<b>Committee on Educational Policy</b>
Advancement	

Anna Ortiz-Morfit, Chair Diego Arambula, Chair

Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Christopher Steinhauser, Vice Chair

Diego Arambula

Raji Kaur Brar

Jean Picker Firstenberg

Mark Ghilarducci

Jonathan Molina Mancio

Diana Aguilar-Cruz

Raji Kaur Brar

Jack Clarke, Jr.

Mark Ghilarducci

Jonathan Molina Mancio

Jeslie Gilbert Lurie

Jonathan Molina Mancio
Yammilette Rodriguez
Jose Antonio Vargas

Leslie Gilbert-Lurie
Jonathan Molina Mancio
Jose Antonio Vargas

Darlene Yee-Melichar

**Consent** 1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of January 24, 2023, *Action* 

**Discussion** 2. The Wang Family Excellence Award, *Information* 

**Action Item** Agenda Item 1 January 29-31, 2024 Page 1 of 1

# MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT AND **EDUCATIONAL POLICY**

**Trustees of the California State University** Office of the Chancellor Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium **401 Golden Shore** Long Beach, California

**January 24, 2023** 

#### **Members Present**

# **Committee on Institutional Advancement**

Lillian Kimbell, Chair Jean Picker Firstenberg, Vice Chair Diego Arambula Leslie Gilbert-Lurie Anna Ortiz-Morfit Yammilette Rodriguez Jose Antonio Vargas

Wenda Fong, Chair of the Board Jolene Koester, Interim Chancellor

Chair Sabalius called the meeting to order.

# **Approval of Minutes**

The minutes of the meeting on January 24, 2023, were approved as submitted.

# The Wang Family Excellence Award

The presentation began with opening remarks from CSU Board of Trustee Chair Wenda Fong acknowledging the 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Wang Family Excellence Awards. Chair Fong thanked Trustee Emeritus Wang as well as the members of the selection committee. Interim Chancellor Jolene Koester then introduced the 2023 award recipients: Dr. Steve Alas, Outstanding Faculty Service; Dr. David Blekhman, Outstanding Faculty Scholarship; Dr. William J. Hoese, Outstanding Faculty Innovator for Student Success; Dr. Alyssa Goldstein Sepinwall, Outstanding Faculty Teaching; and Dr. Joy Stewart-James, Outstanding Staff Performance.

The meeting adjourned.

#### **Committee on Educational Policy**

Romey Sabalius, Chair Diego Arambula, Vice Chair Douglas Faigin Jean Picker Firstenberg Leslie Gilbert-Lurie Maria Linares Julia I. Lopez Yammilette Rodriguez Christopher Steinhauser

Information Item
Agenda Item 2
January 29-31, 2024
Page 1 of 2

# JOINT COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT AND EDUCATIONAL POLICY

### The Wang Family Excellence Award

## **Presentation By**

Mildred García Chancellor

#### **Background**

More than 20 years ago, the Wang Family Excellence Award was established when then-California State University (CSU) Trustee Stanley T. Wang provided \$1 million to recognize the remarkable contributions of four CSU faculty members and one staff member annually over a 10-year period. Each selected recipient received an award of \$20,000.

In 2014, Trustee Emeritus Wang pledged a \$300,000 gift to the CSU to reinstate the Wang Family Excellence Award, continuing this recognition for faculty and staff through 2017. And, at the January 2017 Board of Trustees meeting, Chancellor Timothy P. White announced that Trustee Emeritus Wang had gifted an additional \$2.5 million, allowing the Wang Family Excellence Award to continue in perpetuity.

#### Overview

The Wang Family Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates CSU faculty members who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary dedication and exemplary achievements in their academic disciplines, while significantly contributing to the success of students. A staff administrator is also recognized for outstanding performance in her or his university assignment.

The selection process for the award begins with each campus president nominating one probationary or tenured faculty member for each of the award categories. Award categories are:

- a) Outstanding Faculty Innovator in Student Success;
- b) Outstanding Faculty Scholarship;
- c) Outstanding Faculty Service; and
- d) Outstanding Faculty Teaching.

Campus presidents also nominate one staff administrator from their respective campuses for the Outstanding Staff Performance Award.

IA & Ed Pol Agenda Item 2 January 29-31, 2024 Page 2 of 2

Nominations are considered by the Wang Family Excellence Award Selection Committee, appointed in fall 2023 by Chancellor García in consultation with Trustee Emeritus Wang. This committee includes two members of the Board of Trustees, the deputy vice chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs and Chief Academic Officer, the vice chancellor for Human Resources, chair of the Academic Senate CSU and a CSU faculty member who was previously awarded the Wang Family Excellence Award.

Nominees are reviewed and considered for selection based on the following criteria:

- Nominees should have made truly remarkable contributions to the advancement of their respective universities and/or the CSU system.
- Nominees should have a demonstrated record of unusually meritorious achievements documented by evidence of superior accomplishments and contributions to their academic discipline or university assignment.
- A nominee's activities must advance the mission of the university, bring benefit and credit to the CSU and contribute to the enhancement of the CSU's excellence in teaching, learning, research, scholarly pursuits, student support and community contributions.

The Wang Family Excellence Awards will be presented at the January 2024 Board of Trustees meeting.