CSU Student Fee Waivers
Under current law, there are three state-mandated fee
waiver programs: the CSU California Veteran Waiver
for children of disabled/deceased veterans (Education
Code 32320), the Alan Pattee Waiver for dependents
of deceased law enforcement or fire suppression
personnel (Education Code 68120), and the newly
established fee waiver for California residents who
were dependents of victims killed in the September
11, 2001, terrorist attacks (Education Code 68121).
In addition to state mandated fee waiver programs,
other fee waiver programs have been established by
CSU Board of Trustees policy, California statute, and
collective bargaining agreements that include
programs applicable to high school students,
California residents age 60 years and older,
CSU employees and employee dependents, and graduate
and teaching assistants.
The state has not provided General Fund support to
fund fee waiver programs since fiscal year 1992/93.
However, the CSU has used a portion of funds set
aside for financial aid from enrollment growth
revenue to support increases in the number of
students eligible for state-mandated fee waivers.
Adjustments for changes in the reported number of
state-mandated fee waivers have been incorporated in
the CSU revenue estimates for 2006/07.The amount
of funded waivers increased by $2.5 million between
2004/05 and 2005/06 and is projected to increase
further in 2006/07 as newly mandated state waivers
are more fully utilized.