California State University  
Faculty to Faculty banner

Number 5 / June 2014

image for chair message

Diana Guerin, outgoing Chair of the Academic Senate, draws upon her two years’ experience at the helm to chart a course for the future of the ASCSU.
More »


Reports From the Standing Committees

Chairs of the ASCSU’s committees—Christine Miller of Academic Affairs (AA), Manzar Foroohar of Faculty Affairs (FA), and Praveen Soni of Fiscal and Governmental Affairs (FGA)—conclude a productive year’s work with their final reports. More »
Capitol Watch
Legislative specialist Thomas Krabacher’s lowdown on the status of Senate and Assembly bills of interest to the faculty. More »
Report of the Faculty Trustee
Trustee Steven Stepanek’s reflections on May’s Board of Trustees meeting. More »
Op-Ed (Cezar M. Ornatowski–ASCSU Senator, San Diego State)
What could the former Soviet bloc and today’s CSU possibly have in common? The perils of centralization. More »

Academic Conference Update: Speakers Announced
Two guest speakers have accepted invitations to address the Academic Conference, hosted by Chancellor Timothy P. White, and scheduled for November 13-14, 2014 at the Long Beach Hilton. More »

California Open Education Resources Council - Faculty Survey: Please respond
In 2012, with the goal of increasing faculty adoption of high-quality, affordable, or free textbooks, the California state legislature directed the state’s public higher education systems to create an online library of open educational resources and textbooks. More »

Bookmarks: A Handy list of URLs worth keeping on your desktop for future reference

California Open Education Resources Council (established January 2014):

Newsletter of the CSU Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association, CSU-ERFA Reporter:

News from the California Faculty Association (CFA) Headlines:

CSU Outstanding Faculty Website:

Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U): http://www.aacu.orgca

American Association of University Professors (AAUP):

Book List: What faculty colleagues are reading and recommending:

  • Suzanne Mettler. Degrees of Inequality:  How the Politics of Higher Education Sabotaged the American Dream. Basic Books: 2014. More »

  • Henry A. Giroux. Neoliberalism’s War on Higher Education. Haymarket Books: 2014. More »

  • Benjamin Ginsberg. The Fall of the Faculty: The Rise of the All-Administrative University and Why It Matters. Oxford University Press: 2011. More »


The Faculty to Faculty Newsletter editor welcomes op-ed pieces, letters to the editor, and suggestions for “Bookmarks” and brief book reviews for “Booklist.” Please send to Include your name, campus affiliation, and best email address. We reserve the right to edit submissions for length and clarity.


Resolution Summaries

At the May plenary, the ASCSU passed nine resolutions; summaries of these are provided. The ASCSU also passed 14 commendations by acclamation. More »
ASCSU Calendar Dates for 2014-15
September 3 - Standing Committee meetings
September 4-5 - Plenary
October 10 - Standing Committee interim meetings
November 5 - Standing Committee meetings
November 6-7 - Plenary
Thursday & Friday, November 13-14 - Academic Conference
December 5 - Standing Committee Interim Meetings
January 21 - Standing Committee meetings
January 22-23 - Plenary
February 20 - Standing Committee Interim Meetings
March 18 - Standing Committee Interim Meetings
March 19-20 - Standing Committee meetings
April 17 - Standing Committee Interim Meetings
May 13 - Standing Committee meetings
May 14-15 - Plenary

ASCSU Leaders for 2014-15 Elected, Appointed
New officers of the ASCSU were elected at the annual ASCSU Organizational Meeting on Friday, May 16, 2014. They are: Chair Steven Filling (Stanislaus); Vice Chair Christine Miller (Sacramento); Secretary Susan Gubernat (East Bay); Member-at-Large Julie Chisholm (Maritime) and Member-at-Large Praveen Soni (Long Beach.) In addition to those newly elected, outgoing Chair Diana Guerin (Fullerton) will remain on the Executive Committee this year.

The new Executive Committee has appointed the following chairs of the standing committees: Academic Affairs (AA): Bill Eadie (San Diego); Academic Preparation and Education Programs (APEP): Denise Fleming (East Bay); Faculty Affairs (FA): Manzar Foroohar (San Luis Obispo); Fiscal and Governmental Affairs (FGA): Thomas Krabacher; and General Education Advisory Committee (GEAC): Mark Van Selst (San Jose).



The Academic Senate of the California State University (ASCSU) is the official voice of faculty in matters of systemwide concern and provides the means to engage in shared governance as recognized by state law.

Newsletter produced by the Academic Senate of the CSU. Please email any comments or questions to Tracy Butler. Previous issues can be accessed in the archive. Subscribe or unsubscribe here.