Public Affair Banner

CSU Media Arts Festival Honors Humboldt State University Professor Ann Alter

The CSU Media Arts Festival 2008 Outstanding Faculty Rosebud Award winner is Professor Ann Alter from Humboldt State University. Professor Alter is a tenured professor in the Department of Theatre, Film and Dance at Humboldt State and also an active independent filmmaker with five award-winning titles to her credit.

The ceremony to present the Rosebud Award to Professor Alter will take place during the Media Arts Festival at CSU Channel Islands, Cabrillo, CA, on Saturday, November 8, at 7 p.m. This event is free and open to the public.

Nominees were submitted from throughout the 23 campus CSU system, and were judged by a faculty panel on the following criteria: Service to Students; Professional Standing; Media Connections; Innovative Projects; Other Professional Recognition.

Dr. Alter holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Telecommunications and Film from the University of Oregon in Eugene, Oregon; and a Master of Fine Arts in Film, Summa Cum Laude, from Ohio University in Athens, Ohio. She also earned a Women's Studies Certificate while at the University of Oregon.

During her 15 years in the University's film department, Professor Alter has served as the head of the film program which includes B.A. and M.A. degrees and a film minor. She exhibits an extraordinarily high level of energy and passion in working collaboratively with her students in the areas of: fundraising/grant writing; all stages of film and video production; post-production; distribution; running a juried film festival; partnering with organizations and non-profits. For many years, she was faculty supervisor of the Humboldt International Film Festival, the oldest student-run film festival in the world.

Professor Alter's films have been widely screened and recognized with a number of prestigious awards, including:

Dispensing Cannabis: The California Story (2006) ( - Made collaboratively with Humboldt State University students, this film debuted in Oct. 2007 and was a finalist at the La Femme Film Festival in Beverly Hills.

Team Red (2000) - World premiered at the Telluride Film Festival, won a Silver medal at the Czech Republic's Brno 16 International Film Festival, a Special Mention at the Sienna international Short Film Festival (Italy), and a Certificate of Merit at the San Francisco International film Festival. It has been screened in 11 countries and is broadcast on the SBS Television Network of Australia twice annually.

Air Fare (1995) - Awarded a Bronze Apple Award at the National Educational media Network Film Competition.

No Need to Repent (1989) - Premiered at the Berlin International Film Festival, won a Silver Apple Award at the National Education Film Festival and a Short Documentary Award at the Atehns International Film Festival.

See dick run (1987) - Screened at festivals across the country won numerous Honorable Mentions and a copy resides in the New York Museum of Modern Art Film Collection.

Professor Alter has regularly presented and facilitated at the University Film & Video Association annual conferences, served as a panelist on grant writing, and had numerous film reviews.

# # #

About the Rosebud Award
In 2000, the Festival began recognizing the outstanding faculty of the CSU with a Rosebud Award for service to the students of the CSU and noteworthy professional accomplishment. Prior honorees include Jack Ofield from San Diego State University (2000), Alan Bloom from CSU Los Angeles (2001), Jose Sanches-H, from CSU Long Beach (2002), Ivan Cury from CSU Los Angeles (2003), Sharyn Blumenthal from CSU Long Beach (2004), Don Priest from CSU Fresno (2005), and Lynne Gross from CSU Fullerton (2006). The 2007 honoree was Professor Ron Compesi from San Francisco State University.