2011 Facts About the CSU

Students studying on lawn


Responsibility for the CSU is vested in a 25-member Board of Trustees, the majority of whom are appointed by the governor to eight-year terms. Faculty, alumni and two student trustees serve two-year terms. The trustees appoint the chancellor, who is the system’s chief executive officer, and the presidents, who are the chief executive officers on their respective campuses and who report to the chancellor. The trustees, chancellor and presidents develop systemwide policies.

Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members
  Governor Edmund (Jerry) G. Brown, Jr.
  Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom
  Speaker of the Assembly John A. Pérez
  State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
  CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed

Appointed Members (term ends during the year given)

Appointed Members Year
Roberta Achtenberg 2015
Nicole Anderson, Student Trustee (voting) 2011
Herbert L. Carter, Chair 2011
Carol R. Chandler 2012
Steven Dixon, Student Trustee (non-voting) 2012
Debra S. Farar 2014
Kenneth Fong 2013
Margaret Fortune 2016
George G. Gowgani 2018
Melinda Guzman 2012
William Hauck 2017
Raymond W. Holdsworth, Jr. 2011
Hsing Kung 2018
Linda A. Lang 2017
Bob Linscheid, Vice Chair 2012
Peter Mehas 2015
Henry Mendoza 2016
Lou Monville 2014
Glen Toney 2013

Administrative Leaders

Charles B. Reed, Chancellor
Garrett P. Ashley, Vice Chancellor, University Relations and Advancement
Gail Brooks, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Christine Helwick, General Counsel
Larry Mandel, University Auditor
Benjamin F. Quillian, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
Ephraim P. Smith, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Campus Presidents

Campus President Year
Bakersfield Horace Mitchell 2004
Channel Islands Richard R. Rush 2001
Chico Paul J. Zingg 2004
Dominguez Hills Mildred García 2007
East Bay Mohammad Qayoumi 2006
Fresno John D. Welty 1991
Fullerton Milton A. Gordon 1990
Humboldt Rollin C. Richmond 2002
Long Beach F. King Alexander 2006
Los Angeles James M. Rosser 1979
Maritime Academy William B. Eisenhardt 2001
Monterey Bay Dianne F. Harrison 2006
Northridge Jolene Koester 2000
Pomona J. Michael Ortiz 2003
Sacramento Alexander Gonzalez 2003
San Bernardino Albert K. Karnig 1997
San Diego Stephen L. Weber 1996
San Francisco Robert A. Corrigan 1988
San José Don W. Kassing 2010
San Luis Obispo Jeffrey Armstrong 2011
San Marcos Karen S. Haynes 2004
Sonoma Ruben Armiñana 1992
Stanislaus Hamid Shirvani 2005

Note: For a current list and links to the biographies of trustees, administrative officers and campus presidents, go to CSU Board of Trustees.