Responsibility for the CSU is vested in a 25-member Board of Trustees, the majority of whom are appointed by the governor to eight-year terms. Faculty, alumni and two student trustees serve two-year terms. The trustees appoint the chancellor, who is the systemís chief executive officer, and the presidents, who are the chief executive officers on their respective campuses and who report to the chancellor.

The trustees, chancellor and presidents develop systemwide policy, with campus implementation taking place through broadly based consultative procedures. The Office of the Chancellor secures the CSU general fund and capital outlay budgets and coordinates systemwide efforts in areas such as technology, academic affairs, business affairs, institutional research, physical plant development, employee relations, state and federal governmental affairs, legal affairs, university advancement, and public affairs.

Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members
  Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
  Lieutenant Governor Cruz Bustamante
  Speaker of the Assembly Fabio Nuñez
  State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O'Connell
  CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed

Appointed Members
 Murray Galinson, Chair (2007) 
 Roberta Achtenberg, Vice Chair (2007) 
 Larry Adamson, Alumni Trustee (2005) 
 Jeffrey L. Bleich (2010) 
 Herbert Carter (2011) 
 Carol R. Chandler (2012) 
 Moctesuma Esparza (2008) 
 Debra S. Farar (2006) 
 Robert Foster (2006) 
 George G. Gowgani (2010) 
 Eric Guerra, Student Trustee (2005) 
 William Hauck (2009) 
 Raymond W. Holdsworth Jr. (2011) 
 Ricardo F. Icaza (2008) 
 Corey A. Jackson, Student Trustee (2006) 
 Kathleen E. Kaiser, Faculty Trustee (2005) 
 Shailesh J. Mehta (2005) 
 Melinda Guzman Moore (2012) 
 Kyriakos Tsakopoulos (2009) 
 Anthony M. Vitti (2005) 

Administrative Leaders

Charles B. Reed, Chancellor
David S. Spence, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer
Richard P. West, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
Jackie R. McClain, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Christine Helwick, General Counsel
Larry Mandel, University Auditor

Campus Presidents

(Date is the appointment year.)
Bakersfield Horace Mitchell (2004) 
Channel Islands Richard Rush (2001) 
Chico Paul Zingg (2003) 
Dominguez Hills James Lyons (1999) 
East Bay Norma Rees (1990) 
Fresno John Welty (1991) 
Fullerton Milton Gordon (1990) 
Humboldt Rollin Richmond (2002) 
Long Beach Robert Maxson (1994) 
Los Angeles James Rosser (1979) 
Maritime Academy William Eisenhardt (2001) 
Monterey Bay Peter Smith (1995) 
Northridge Jolene Koester (2000) 
Pomona J. Michael Ortiz (2003) 
Sacramento Alexander Gonzalez (2003) 
San Bernardino Albert Karnig (1997) 
San Diego Stephen Weber (1996) 
San Francisco Robert Corrigan (1988) 
San José Don Kassing (2004) 
San Luis Obispo Warren Baker (1979) 
San Marcos Karen Haynes (2004) 
Sonoma Ruben Armiñana (1992) 
Stanislaus Marvalene Hughes (1994) 


CSU East Bay was previously known as CSU Hayward. Presidents Hughes and Smith will be departing their campuses in June 2005.

Biographies of trustees, administrative officers and campus presidents may be found at www.calstate.edu/pa/bios/csubio.shtml.

Content Contact:
Office of Public Affairs
Technical Contact:

Last Updated: March 09, 2005