Board of Trustees

Responsibility for the CSU is vested in the 25-member Board of Trustees, the majority of whom are appointed by the governor to eight-year terms. Faculty, alumni and two student trustees serve two-year terms. The trustees appoint the chancellor, who is the system's chief executive officer. The trustees also appoint the presidents, who are the chief executive officers on their respective campuses and who report to the chancellor.

The trustees, chancellor and presidents develop systemwide policy, with actual implementation at the campus level taking place through broadly based consultative procedures. The CSU Statewide Academic Senate, made up of elected faculty representatives from each campus, recommends academic policy to the Board of Trustees through the chancellor.

Ex Officio Members
  Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
  Lieutenant Governor Cruz Bustamante
  Speaker of the Assembly Fabio Nuñez
  State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O'Connell
  CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed

Appointed Members
 Murray Galinson, Chair (2007) 
 Roberta Achtenberg, Vice Chair (2007) 
 Debra Farar (2006) 
 Robert Foster (2006) 
 Eric Guerra, Student Trustee (2005) 
 William Hauck (2009) 
 Ricardo F. Icaza (2008) 
 Kathleen Kaiser, Faculty Trustee (2005) 
 M. Alexander Lopez, Student Trustee (2004) 
 Shailesh Mehta (2005) 
 Fred Pierce, Alumni Trustee (2004) 
 Kyriakos Tsakopoulos (2009) 
 Anthony M. Vitti (2005) 
(In parenthesis is the year trustee term ends.)

The Chancellor
As the system's chief executive officer, the chancellor reports to the Board of Trustees. The Chancellor's Office secures the CSU general fund and capital outlay budgets and coordinates systemwide efforts in areas such as technology, academic affairs, business affairs, institutional research, physical plant development, employee relations, state and federal governmental affairs, legal affairs, university advancement, and public affairs.

Administrative Leaders
Charles B. Reed, Chancellor
David S. Spence, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer
Richard P. West, Executive Vice Chancellor andChief Financial Officer
Jackie R. McClain, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Christine Helwick, General Counsel

Campus Presidents*

(Date is the appointment year.)
Bakersfield* Tomás Arciniega (1983) 
Channel Islands Richard Rush (2001) 
Chico Paul Zingg (1993) 
Dominguez Hills James Lyons (1999) 
Fresno John Welty (1991) 
Fullerton Milton Gordon (1990) 
Hayward** Norma Rees (1990) 
Humboldt Rollin Richmond (2002) 
Long Beach Robert Maxson (1994) 
Los Angeles James Rosser (1979) 
Maritime Academy William Eisenhardt (2001) 
Monterey Bay Peter Smith (1995) 
Northridge Jolene Koester (2000) 
Pomona J. Michael Ortiz (2003) 
Sacramento Alexander Gonzalez (2003) 
San Bernardino Albert Karnig (1997) 
San Diego Stephen Weber (1996) 
San Francisco Robert Corrigan (1988) 
San José Paul Yu (2004) 
San Luis Obispo Warren Baker (1979) 
San Marcos Karen Haynes (2004) 
Sonoma Ruben Armiñana (1992) 
Stanislaus Marvalene Hughes (1994) 

* Horace Mitchell will become president in July 2004 when President Arciniega retires from CSU Bakersfield.

**Now known as CSU East Bay.

Content Contact:
Office of Public Affairs
Technical Contact:

Last Updated: February 14, 2005