Board of Trustees

Responsibility for the CSU is vested in the 25-member Board of Trustees, the majority of whom are appointed by the governor to eight-year terms. Faculty, alumni and two student trustees serve two-year terms. The trustees appoint the chancellor, who is the chief executive officer of the system. The trustees also appoint the presidents, who are the chief executive officers on their respective campuses and who report to the

The trustees, chancellor and presidents develop systemwide policy, with actual implementation at the campus level taking place through broadly based consultative procedures. The CSU Statewide Academic Senate, made up of elected representatives of the faculty from each campus, recommends academic policy to the Board of Trustees through the chancellor.

Ex Officio Members
  Governor Gray Davis
  Lieutenant Governor Cruz Bustamante
  Speaker of the Assembly Herb Wesson
  State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O’Connell
  CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed

Appointed Members
 Debra Farar, Chair (2006) 
 Murray Galinson, Vice Chair (2007) 
 Roberta Achtenberg (2007) 
 Robert Foster (2006) 
 Harold Goldwhite, Faculty Trustee (2003) 
 William Hauck (2009) 
 Ricardo F. Icaza (2008) 
 M. Alexander Lopez, Student Trustee (2004) 
 Shailesh Mehta (2005) 
 Dee Dee Myers (2004) 
 Ralph R. Pesqueira (2004) 
 Fred Pierce, Alumni Trustee (2004) 
 Erene S. Thomas, Student Trustee (2003) 
 Kyriakos Tsakopoulos (2009) 
 Anthony M. Vitti (2005) 
(In parenthesis is the year trustee term ends.)

The Chancellor
As the system’s chief executive officer, the chancellor reports to the Board of Trustees. The Chancellor’s Office secures the CSU general fund and capital outlay budgets and coordinates systemwide efforts in areas such as technology, academic affairs, business affairs, institutional research, physical plant development, employee relations, state and federal governmental affairs, legal affairs, university advancement and public affairs.

Administrative Leaders
Charles B. Reed, Chancellor
David S. Spence, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer
Richard P. West, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
Jackie R. McClain, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Christine Helwick, General Counsel

Campus Presidents*

(Date is the appointment year.)
Bakersfield Tomás Arciniega (2001) 
Channel Islands Richard Rush (2007) 
Chico Manuel Esteban (1993) 
Dominguez Hills James Lyons (1999) 
Fresno John Welty (1991) 
Fullerton Milton Gordon (1990) 
Hayward Norma Rees (1990) 
Humboldt Rollin Richmond (2002) 
Long Beach Robert Maxson (1994) 
Los Angeles James Rosser (1979) 
Maritime Academy William Eisenhardt (2001) 
Monterey Bay Peter Smith (1995) 
Northridge Jolene Koester (2000) 
Pomona Bob Suzuki (1991) 
Sacramento Donald Gerth (1984) 
San Bernardino Albert Karnig (1997) 
San Diego Stephen Weber (1996) 
San Francisco Robert Corrigan (1988) 
San José Robert Caret (1995) 
San Luis Obispo Warren Baker (1979) 
San Marcos Alexander Gonzalez (1997) 
Sonoma Ruben Armiñana (1992) 
Stanislaus Marvalene Hughes (1994) 
* Midyear changes: In summer 2003, Presidents Esteban, Gerth and Suzuki will retire; President Caret becomes president of Towson University; Gonzalez becomes president at Sacramento; J. Michael Ortiz becomes president at Pomona; and Joseph N. Crowley, Scott G. McNall and Roy McTarnaghan become interim presidents at San José, Chico and San Marcos, respectively.

Content Contact:
Office of Public Affairs
Technical Contact:

Last Updated: July 1, 2003