Timeline & Milestones

Click on the photos below to view a larger version of each image.


The California State University The State Academic Senate

The Center for California Studies is founded at CSU Sacramento and administers the nationally-recognized Capitol Fellows program. Former fellows include a justice of the California Supreme Court, members of United States Congress and state legislature, state and local government officials, community leaders, and many more.

The State University and Colleges system is designated "The California State University."

W. Ann Reynolds assumes the chancellorship. Her eight-year administration focused on teacher education, the arts and attracting women to science and technology.


The CSU Fullerton football team makes it to the 1983 California Bowl after winning its first
conference championship.


awarded the Velodrome for the 1984 Olympics

CSU Dominguez Hills is awarded the Velodrome for the 1984 Olympics. More than 8,530 spectators watched the U.S. cycling team win nine gold medals.


The Summer Arts program is created, debuting as a summer dance program on the CSU Long Beach campus. Today, the Summer Arts program is located at CSU Fresno, offering two-week-long workshops in theatre, dance, music, visual arts, creative writing, new media and arts education.


oceanographic ship

CSU Fullerton's softball team wins the NCAA Division I National Championship. The team featured All-Americans Connie Clark and Chenita Rogers, who were instrumental in the win.

USNS MAURY, the largest and fastest oceanographic ship in the world, is built. The ship was later donated to Cal Maritime and renamed Training Ship Golden Bear. Students experience a two-month international training cruise onboard the T.S. Golden Bear as part of Maritime’s curriculum.


San José State wins the NCAA women's golf championships under coach Mark Gale. The Spartans take the title again in 1989 and 1992 and tie for the national championship in 1991 and 1996. San José State is the first university to capture the NCAA championship three times.

The Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program (CDIP) is established as the largest program of its kind. The program provides loans to a limited number of individuals pursuing full-time doctoral degrees at accredited universities throughout the United States. After participants receive their doctoral degrees and obtain a qualifying instructional position at the CSU, a portion of their loan from this program is forgiven each year.


Gov. George Deukmejian signs SB365 into law, reconstituting the San Diego State satellite campus as CSU San Marcos, the first comprehensive U.S. university to be founded in two decades.